Bougie Do Not Look Good On You!


I understand people are busy with running their own lives (fam, careers, picking the lint from in between their toes and stuff like that), I mean I get it – well sort of. You already know where I’m going with this. As anyone know trying to achieve their career goals is difficult. Nothing in life worth obtaining will be easy and that’s how it should be; however I strongly feel that in order to achieve that pursuit of happiness it’s good to have a mentor. Don’t get what a mentor is confused though.

A mentor is not that person that is entitled to put you on just because you know you deserve it. A mentor is not a person to use in any kind of way and then toss out. They don’t have to be rich or be in the field you are hopping into. They can possess leadership qualities you think are extraordinary or they can have a knack for guiding you in a positive direction such as a preacher. A teacher can mentor you to better your grades or a mentor can be that great friend you need in your life!

With that being said if I ask you a simple question about how you did a certain thing, do not assume that I am requesting that you be my mentor therefore making it seem like you have to be this big Godly role in my life. I just asked a damn question! Period! Since people feel the need to be bougie I guess I have to go back to the old adage – if you want something done you have to do it yourself. Am I bitter about it? Enough to write a post I guess but as I’ve said a million and one times I digress, real shit. But I will say this I refuse to be that way. My point of doing this writing is also to help others become inspired and do big things. Will Smith said it best in an interview ‘if you are not making someone’s life better you’re wasting your time here on earth!’ I’m not Oprah she does her own (pun intended) just fine. I’m just a grownup who knows her purpose in life now.

Peace and Luv!

Leave a Reply

