The Best Story Ever Told


What would be the best story you ever told? I started thinking about this after I picked up the book ‘Half The Sky‘. It is about different women in the third world countries and their courageous but devastating, morbid but inspiring stories. I’m currently only half way thru the book but I’m speechless. I knew a tidbit of what was going on in places such as China and abandoning little girls or killing them while they are still fetuses because they are more of a nuance to society than a blessing. Or in Pakistan, India, Afghanistan in their ‘honor’ killings when in reality there is nothing honorable about some damn acid being thrown on a woman’s face. It sickens me because as I’m sitting over here with my lil’ cafe latte women and children are being victimized, raped, sodomized and thrown into streets and left for dead!

And did you know that the wonderful (I hope you see the sarcastic dripping off of the screen right now!) ‘President George W. Bush proposed an 18% cut in USAID spending for maternal and child care to just $370 million?’ (Kristoff & WuDunn, pg. 98). Why does that not surprise me? The asshole is not a president anymore and he still manages to irk my nerves! And of course he had a story to tell and the smurf looking weasel wrote a book. I’m surprised he could write anything other than his name. Shocking that I learn something new everyday.

Anywho these two authors has managed to get these inspiring women to tell their story. It just goes to show you that even if you do not have the passion to write doesn’t mean you don’t have a story to tell. Looking into these womens’ eyes on the cover proves that. And it was a major blessing that the writer, Nicholas D. Kristoff and Sheryl WuDunn, used their writing talent among others skills to get this story in print so we can put faces with the horrific crimes.

That is why I coined these women’s lives as the best story ever told!

Peace & Luv

Kristoff, Nicholas & WuDunn, Sheryl. Half The Sky: Turning Oppression Into Opportunity For Women Worldwide. New York, NY 2009, Borzoi Book

Leave a Reply

