My First Full Day Of Looking For Writing Gigs Sucked!


Yesterday I chose to hit the ground running with finding freelancing work. How’d that go? It didn’t. I had my lil list of spots to hit up all nice and organized and I sat down at my computer immersed in my hustla’s mentality.

What happened?

A whole lot of nothing, that’s what. I started at 9:30 in the morning and ended at 2 in the afternoon. No leads! Nothing! I spent all that time setting up accounts with all of these ‘supposed’ freelancing sites that has all of these promising leads. Let me tell you a little something about me, I’m a Gemini so my attention span is as short as a gnat.

Here’s what I think freelance writing sites should consider changing.

First off unless a person is paying for a service they should not have to sign their lives away. I get that setting up an account let’s you stay in contact, it proves that if they took the time to fill out the numerous pages they are serious about looking for a job. Ok, I see your logic but I look at me filling out the numerous accounts like how I view relationships. I’ll pay attention for 30 seconds and then forget I’m in a relationship. A simple username, password, and email should be all that is needed.

And I don’t know how many times I would start out on one site, click on a job to get details, read it and click on the apply button only to get the ‘you must sign up to apply for the job’. What?! Isn’t that what I did 5 minutes ago? Then I scroll up and realize I am on a totally different site. Once again I fill out boxes to create another account! Aggggghhhhh!

I tell you by 2 o’clock I was exhausted and moody. This was not what I expected. The horror stories are true. I have a lil’ bit of advice for beginning freelancers. Start out with one or two sites. Create an account and roll with them for a wekk or two-  just until you’re comfortable with the schedule. Believe me you will need a tight schedule and stick to it if you’re planning on making money. It is easy to make excuses on why you can’t do it today but with me, I just look at my bills and that’s my motivation to do it every day.

Hopefully it will get better. Any suggestions?

Peace and luv!

Leave a Reply

