Big Shoes To Fill


WASHINGTON (Sept. 24, 2009) Susan L. Taylor, e...

Image via Wikipedia

Ok so I’m disappointed in Essence because they are putting white people in charge. Not racist just want to point out that Essence magazine is supposed to be a black based, black owned magazine and now they are not – at all. I’m serious, Time Inc has bought them all out and because they have taken over the whole brand it was only a matter of time before they slide their own people in to replace the blacks. It’s disheartening when I see shit like what Essence is resorting to. It’s 2011 and I believe black should be either on the same level when owning businesses if not higher.

I mean we’re always yelling out ‘the man is holding me down!’ However when the businesses we’ve worked hard to build becomes more of a burden rather than a blessing we run to a white person with money to take over and we do it prematurely too. I believe Essence has lost its mission which was to uplift black women so they can have better lives. Now I don’t know what they are on (in my Drizzy voice).

I had a mind altering revelation the other day. I am going to re-invent my monthly online magazine Diamond XL and do what Essence originally wanted to accomplish. Which makes hella sense because ever since I turned 30 I’ve been thinking a lot about my sistahs which is odd because I do not have a good track record when it comes to befriending females. But I see the paths us sistahs take and it’s unbelievable because we do a lot of damage to ourselves sometimes subconsciously. I want us to get back on track.

So the next coming weeks I will be studying mags, looking at blogs and trying to pull as many connects as I can. Any ideas? Is this too big of a shoe to attempt to fill?

Peace and luv!

*sideeye I am not trying to replace the Essence brand; I think they’ve created a monstrous legacy. i just feel we need to our (black women) shit together and I think I am the woman to do that with Diamond XL.

One thought on “Big Shoes To Fill

  1. […] Big Shoes To Fill (diamondpublicationz.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

