Should The African American Section Die?


Legacy Museum of African American Historylogo

Image via Wikipedia

Hear me out before you start sucking your teeth and jumping to conclusions and assuming I am racist against my own people. I have a logical argument to this.

When I decided to really take this writing craft seriously I would walk into book stores, head straigt to the African American section and sit Indian style in front of it. I would imagine my name printed in a nice ass font, lifted slightly off the cover so I could rub my hand across and know that this is the real deal and not a dream. Yep that was what I did in my spare time besides writing.

Now fast forward to the present. I read an article recently about the African American book sections and should they exist or can we integrate with the ‘others’.

If you think about it, this is just another example of segregation. We’re (cause I do consider myself a bona fide writer) separated from everyone else. It’s very rare you will see a black writer intermingling outside of that section unless they are a celebrity. Why is that? Maybe it’s different in other spots but in good ole country ass Fort Wayne, Indiana we are segregated. Our libraries are integrated though. Are we not good enough to play with the others?

One of the arguments with this is some readers have walked out of a bookstore because they could not find the African American section. Now that is just plain laziness if you ask me and nine levels of foolishness. It really isn’t that deep.

My opinion is that African American writers are being recognized as legit writers more. We have a long way to go still but I think now we should be in our respectable sections (whatever genre we are writing about) just like everybody else.

Do you care whether our section is pulled?

I’m still gone write regardless if there is a section for us or not; this is a God-given talent and I will not accept anything but success out of this. Change is consistent. We got ourselves in the door now lets break this glass ceiling and make bigger moves!

Peace and luv!

3 thoughts on “Should The African American Section Die?

  1. […] Should The African American Section Die? « Diamond Publicationz When I decided to really take this writing craft seriously I would walk into book stores, head straigt to the African American section and sit Indian style in front of it. I would imagine my name printed in a nice ass … […]

  2. I don’t mind, the African American section but I do see where it can become a problem. I like being able to walk up to these sections and see what new black authors have written. But this can be limiting because, if their work is not also featured in their respective genres they could lose out on gaining new readers.

    • I think that as far as the new writers go, they should put them out on display like they do all of the other ‘just released’ books for a certain amount of time and then shelf them in their genre section.

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

Leave a Reply

