Disciplining Yourself


Writing

Image via Wikipedia

There comes a point in a persons’ life where they realize they need to grow up and get ish done. Some take longer than others but you know how that works.

If anyone should know anything about discipline it is a writer. Yes we have to deal with deadlines and such with publishers, agents and editors but at the end of the day we are still the one that has to come up with a product and find ways to make sure that product is on point and out there. If we are not disciplined enough to make ish happen every day we will see that lack of hustlin’ in our writing and of course in our results.

So how do we as writers learn how to become more discipline? First of we need to get our minds right. Cause we can’t accomplish anything if our mind isn’t on point. All that negative talk will not cut it; you will be easily distracted.

Write every single day! Missing one day and that one day will turn into two, three or more days and next thing you know a month has passed. Find something you enjoy writing about then put it in your journal/diary. Writing every day perfects your craft, just like an athlete must practice daily to be successful. On top of that find a time that works for you and stick with it religiously. You’re less likely to convince yourself to quit before time is up or not write all together.

Lastly block or get rid of all distractions around you. For me I have to have my headphones on listening to music. I don’t consider that a distraction. It might sound like I’m contradicting myself but to me a distraction is just that – something that will hinder you from accomplish your goals. So get rid of them and write!

What are your techniques for disciplining yourself? I would love it if you would share with me.

Peace and luv!

4 thoughts on “Disciplining Yourself

  1. SK says:

    Great article! And I’m just the opposite, lol. I have to have absolute silence. I go to my room and just shut myself off. My husband has TV, music going and can totally concentrate. Needless to say, we’re on opposite sides of the house when we’re working! Enjoyed this. SK

  2. jennyhaygood says:

    Thanks for sharing this!

Leave a Reply

