10 Classics For Back To School (Did I mention they’re free?)


Hallelujah the kiddies are back to school! You feel my excitement coming through your computer screen? I love my babies but they were doing too much for my old ass. And since the kids are back in school they will be bombarded with homework including book reports. Those two words alone will put fear in even the toughest of kids. To have them actually read a book? The nerve of some of these teachers!

Thankfully some of those classics on the reading lists are offered in eBook form. And since everybody and their mama has a device with the capability to read eBooks it’s easier for students to read those literary greats wherever they are. So there should be no excuse as to why Sally Sue did not finish reading that book, but she will try tho.

Now before I give you the 10 names let me just say that I am an open-minded reader and actually love Leo Tolstoy and Jane Austin (if you don’t know them I suggest you Google them) however I do feel like the school need to upgrade the reading list. What about James Baldwin? Toni Morrison? Maya Angelou? Tananarive Due? Nikki Giovanni? You know where I’m going with this right?

And now back to your regularly scheduled program:

1.  Pride & Prejudice – Jane Austen

2.  The Adventures of Sherlock HolmesSir Arthur Conan Doyle

3.  Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland – Lewis Carroll

4.  Adventures of Huckleberry Finn – Mark Twain

5.  Jane Eyre – Charlotte Bronte

6.  Henry James – Rebecca West

7.  Beowulf

8.  Ulysses – James Joyce

9.  Great Expectations – Charles Dickens

10. War and Peace – Leo Tolstoy

To get more free eBook downloads visit. www.gutenberg.org

Peace & luv!

2 thoughts on “10 Classics For Back To School (Did I mention they’re free?)

  1. Dr Wixy says:

    Amazingly, I have not yet seen any of my students using an e-reader. The ones who enjoy reading still seem to prefer books. Of course, that may simply be due to the lack of ebooks in the libraries in the school system — or the lack of knowledge that any exist.

    Last year, I did suggest that my students download “Romeo and Juliet” and “No Fear Shakespeare”, but no one ever admitted to doing so. I expect that to change in the next few years, though. We’ll see.

    • That’s a shock that the students do not use eBook readers. A school in my area already replaced books with iPads for the kindergartens. I think within the next year or two more students will be using them.

      Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

