No Memoir For Toni Morrison


Toni Morrison, on jacket of her Pulitzer Prize...

Toni Morrison, on jacket of her Pulitzer Prize winning novel Beloved. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

There are only a few literary greats around now. Everyone wants to write a book these days but no one ever wants to take the time and actually write something good. Standards have went down tremendously. Looking at the writing industry as a whole it’s kind of disappointing. Hardly anyone wants to learn the craft, or take time to understand what makes a novel literary worthy, or just take it seriously if anything. Writing has become just a side hustle instead of a passion. This lady…my bad, intelligent and creative sistah who breathes art into every word she blesses on paper is a genuine writer. Writing is her God-given talent. This is strictly my opinion but a great author has the ability to create art with words. Toni Morrison is blessed with that ability. She honestly makes writing seem effortless. I’ve always said ink is my blood; I think if you cut her open you will find the same thing there too. Many would love to know more about this intelligent sistah (including me) but to all who were impatiently waiting for Toni’s memoir uncross those fingers and exhale that breath you’ve been holding because it will not be written. Toni was so close to writing it she signed a deal with a publisher but backed out because she says, “My life is really not that interesting.” Come on, the first African American woman to win a Nobel prize and you’re not interesting?

I get it though. I can’t speak for Toni Morrison but as a writer of fiction I do know we are always in our own heads. We create such fascinating stories that readers think that we have this big adventurous life but that’s not always true. That’s probably why we create these outlandish stories. I come up with some mind boggling ish that have me trippin and questioning my own sanity. Put it this way my daughter has more of a social life than I do…for real she does and she’s only 13!

Another thing is not every celebrity love the limelight. Maybe she doesn’t want to share that aspect with anyone and I can totally respect that. For her fans though Ms. Morrison will have a new novel that I’m for sure will be on the bestseller’s list for a long time out in May. It will be called Home and it’s about a Korean War veteran who comes back to a racist America.

Recently Toni Morrison visited her hometown and spoke to some students. One of the advice she gave was,

People say to write about what you know. I’m here to tell you, no one wants to read that cause you don’t know anything. So write about something you don’t know. And don’t be scared – ever.

Great advice. That’s the way of life, you’re not fully living if you’re stagnant.

Peace and luv!

Leave a Reply

