Alice Walker and Apartheid


Cover of "The Color Purple (Two-Disc Spec...

Cover via Amazon

‘You shol is ugly!’

My favorite line in ‘The Color Purple’ well one of my favorites. Recently Alice Walker has refused to have her Pulitzer Prize winning novel published in Israel. Ms. Walker wrote to the Palestinian Campaign for the Academic and Cultural Boycott of Israel which can be viewed on the website. In the letter she explains that the reason behind it is because Israel has been found guilty of apartheid and persecution of the Palestinian people.

Did you know more Palestinians have been killed in targeted assassinations of combatants than were judicially executed for political crimes in South Africa? Disgusting! I remember watching the news with my mouth hung wide open and my eyes as wide and round as saucers. I couldn’t imagine living like that. And I wasn’t the only one. Alice Walker said,

‘The testimony we heard both from Israelis and Palestinians (I was a jurist) was devastating. I grew up under America apartheid and this was far worse!’

I totally back this intelligent sistah up on her decision to refuse to publish her work there. Many writers would not have done that because they would be too concerned about profits. The mentality of western civilization, smdh!

Peace and luv!

Leave a Reply

