What’s The Difference?


What is the difference between Vanity publishing and P.O.D.? What about subsidy? Self publishing? How are you planning on publishing that novel you’re working on now? Have you even thought of it? Well why not? Don’t look at me crazy like that it is a legitimate question. There are as you can see many ways to publish on top of different levels within each one so how do you choose? I can’t tell you what route to go because you are the one who knows what you want – your goals. I will say this, investigate, do your homework! Lack of homework and you’ll fall for everything but do too much and you will stand between you and that masterpiece from publishing. All you will be doing is running the options in your head causing an overdrive and you are not doing anything and frustrated.

I can’t tell you how many times I have changed my mind about how I was going to publish my novels til the point where I have stalled from publishing my manuscripts. I felt like I had not investigated enough so I’d keep searching for info. Now tho, I am jumping off that ledge and going for it. Before you join me let me give you the basics to these 4 types of publishing options; do with it however you want.

  • P.O.D. – you as a writer use you’re own money to produce books one at a time thru a company
  • Subsidy – you pay for your novel to be published as well as binded. The publisher pays for a portion of the editing, distribution and marketing
  • Vanity – you pay for all but own the book and get all profits
  • Self Publishing – you pay for everything from warehousing, marketing, producing and distributing

As I’ve said before know what route you are taking and have a plan for it. Good luck.

Peace and luv!

Leave a Reply

