Unleash the demon in you


“An artist is a creature driven by demons….he is completely amoral in that he will rob, borrow, beg or steal from anybody to get the work done.

Well damn that makes us look like some crackheads! I can dig it though. The quote is from 1956 during an interview from author William Faulkner. Crazy how that sums up what it feels like to be a writer. I’ve joked before that I have multiple personalities running thangs in my head, each vomitting out new stories (ok vomitting may not be the appropriate word but anywho…). None are satisfied until they get the attention they crave. Those are my demons.

“The writer’s responsibility is to his art. He will be completely ruthless if he is a good one. He has a dream. It anguishes him so much he must get rid of it. He has no peace until then.”

When life happened and I became too busy chasing boys and having babies among the choices I made to please everyone but my damn self I still craved writing. Any conversation, situation, hell a tv show would blossom an idea. The thorns would scratch at the door that locked my creativity until one unlocked the door and I was finally at peace. That is what you call an Oprah ah-ha moment.

How do you feel about writing and the whole process of it? Tell me about your demons so i won’t feel like I am the only crazy one here.

Peace and luv from yours truly,

Talia

Posted from none other than your favorite writer’s favorite writer Ms Talia

2 thoughts on “Unleash the demon in you

  1. reikiheidi says:

    I don’t write often, not as often as I should to truly call myself a writer, but when I do get the urge, it’s an absolute obsession for a period of time. I think about what I want to write first thing in the morning and last thing at night. And if I don’t get done what I want writing wise, in that obsession-phase, I become very crotchety!
    Then the passion leaves me again for a time….

Leave a Reply

