Change of heart…maybe


YA or young adult fiction, whatever you want to call it one can’t deny that this genre is getting noticed more. No more Sweet Valley High ish, YA has upgraded. Hell even I got into a few last year and have wondered a little into the young reader services at my local library a couple of times. However I never considered writing YA. That’s a genre I didn’t want to tackle.

To me I assumed it would have too many restrictions and if you have read any of my short stories on Scribd.com you know I love writing steamy, raunchy ass erotica that can make 50 Shades of Whatever pull out a pad and a pen to take notes. I can’t do that in a YA novel. Another reason I didn’t want to touch it is because of all the plots, subjects, etc I conjure up (if only you could be inside of my head, oh wait you can just read my stories). Real shit people (when I say people I am referring to mamas) have become a tad bit sensitive and sue happy. A few days ago there was a news story of a woman who is suing an instructor for the C she received in class! She claims it messed up her chances with a great company! Really?! Well in that case I need to sue the makers of my heels because although I look damn good in them I still have pain in my feet if I strut my stuff a little too long.

Everything sets a mama off these days. Schools are forbidden to offer condoms because it would promote sex! Legendary books written centuries ago are being banned because oh my god two teenagers are kissing! Instead of me taking my chances and pissing off a slew of mamas who have nothing better to do than cluck, cluck about their teenager’s reading material I vowed not to touch YA.

Then last year happened. Like I saud I read some outstanding novels for teens and they may have changed my mind. That and the James Patterson short story writing contest. I figured what the heck, I will give it a try and see what.goes down. Worse that could happen is the judges saying no right? Plus it’s only 500 words I have to come up with.

I need help though. My YA friends.how did you get into the genre? Did you have reservations or am I over doing the panic attacks? I feel like the sensor cops are standing over my shoulders watching me write. Any suggestions?

Peace and luv from yours truly,

Talia

Posted from none other than your favorite writer’s favorite writer Ms Talia

2 thoughts on “Change of heart…maybe

Leave a Reply

