Emotional writing: writing the pain away


When I say emotional writing I’m not talking about your character’s emotions; I am talking about your emotions.

What do you do when you are feeling some type of way?

Me? I write. It’s something about a blank piece of paper that soothes me better than any therapist, happy pill or bottle of liquor could. We have something in common actually – we both are exposed. That is the one time I will allow myself to be completely exposed. Paper never judges, it just allows me to pour my blood (ink) all over it until I am spent. Hell some of my rawest ish have been created while I was depressed.

For that intense writing session my life is fictionalized. I don’t have to hear or think about my problems; it’s my escape to another world. Have you heard a song that mirrors your emotion and make you instantly connect with it? Writing does the same thing. That is why readers can relate to your stories because they feel the realness radiate off the pages.

Don’t be scared to expose yourself on the pages of your books. The paper and your fans will thank you, trust me.

Peace and luv from Ms. Talia!

Posted from none other than your favorite writer’s favorite writer Ms Talia

Leave a Reply

