The Breakup: When Should you Breakup with That Novel


Breaking up is hard to do. How do you know when to let a relationship go? That goes for any type whether it is a boyfriend/girlfriend, job or a manuscript. In situations like this, especially in a personal relationship, it’s always an outsider that tells us ish is not right and we need to get out. Deep down you knew it was a wrap a long time ago but you keep trying because…well why do we stay?

I recently let go of a project I’ve been working on for years. I couldn’t tell you how many times I’ve re-wrote that thing! Finally I said enough is enough. After I let it go I felt better, yes I’m still talking about my manuscript! I held onto it because I felt obligated. I told so many people I had written it that I felt guilty for not writing it. Sometimes it’s good to tell someone that you are writing a novel so that it keeps you motivated but recognize those moments. And don’t feel an ounce of guilt if deep down you know you have to break up with it. Make sure you have another project in the works.

Another reason to quit is no excitement. If every time you think about writing a little on the novel and you don’t get geeked about it then it might be time to let it go. Hey it happens. Think about it though, if you don’t have excitement for it that reflects on the way you write; the agent, publisher or yourself will not feel passionate enough to promote it resulting in low to no sales.

Can’t seem to conjure up an ending? Sucks that you get to the end and nothing sparks the story no matter how you flip it. This could mean some scenes need to be changed in the story or it could mean you’re just not that into it and need to break up. Say your goodbyes and keep it moving.

It’s easier said than done but at the end of the day it works out for everyone. Have you ever had to break up with a novel? If so how did you do it?

Peace and luv!

Posted from none other than your favorite writer’s favorite writer Ms Talia

Leave a Reply

