Don’t Get Rusty at Writing


image

It’s easy to make an excuse not to write: my kids are working my nerves, too tired, too many other ish to do, no motivation, not good enough, I could go on but you get the idea.

Contrary to popular believe getting back into writing isn’t necessarily as easy as getting on a bike you haven’t rode in years and feeling like you never took a break. The ideas may not disappear but the technicality of it will. It’s frustrating when you are working on a novel and pause writing for a day, or two, or five then try to hop back up in it and you are not feeling it on any level. How can you prevent that from happening? Here are three suggestions that are the best to prevent a situation like this:

Always write no matter how silly it sounds. This means every day. Even if it’s for 5 minutes while you’re on the toilet, (ay you gotta do what you gotta do!) write. And don’t worry if it doesn’t sound perfect, it’s just a way to keep your juices flowing consistently. You never know what might come out of that crazy mind of yours.

Write when you don’t feel like it. I still have problems with this. Sometimes my kids work my last nerves so I don’t write. I regret it in the morning trust me. That’s a missed opportunity to finish whatever project I’m working on. As difficult as it sounds you need to write through those times. The my man just left me time, the my day was too hectic time, the I have no motivation time. Keep that pen always in your hand. Use my mantra, write the pain away.

Read. Read a lot! Reading keeps you motivated and interested in writing. It also prevents you from getting rusty in your writing. In order to get better in writing read other authors, it can improve your own skills and style. You can’t be a great writer without being a great reader.

Take these 3 suggestions and keep them around your work area so you don’t fall out of your passion. Someone once told me that it takes 21 days to make a habit. If you consistently write for 21 days writing will come as easy as brushing your teeth. Does this help?

Peace and luv!

Posted from none other than your favorite writer’s favorite writer Ms Talia

Leave a Reply

